Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Colleen Doran at NYCC

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Jan
    replied
    <waves> And you, Colleen! Bet it was quite a crowd with both your and JMS's fans coming over! Good thing you had a corner table, I think.

    This con definitely didn't handle signings at all well. For JMS's Friday signing they only handed out a very few tickets and one volunteer tried to tell me that 'JMS was really restricting them'. Hah! For that one he set up outside of the room where his spotlight was and signed until everyone was gone - as he generally does.

    Next thing I've heard that you'll be appearing at is Heroes Con in NC, is that right, Colleen? Don't know if I'll see you there but do please keep us posted.

    Jan

    Leave a comment:


  • colleen
    replied
    It was great to see you again, Jan!

    On Sunday, JMS had no place to sign. The convention had kinda screwed up, so he signed at my table for something like two hours straight. That was a nice surprise.


    c

    Leave a comment:


  • Jan
    replied
    I stopped by Colleen's table almost the first thing when the show opened. Naturally she couldn't show any Issue 7 art (drat! but I had to ask ) and told me that they were probably going to make sure they had a few issues in inventory before new issues start coming out again. Meanwhile, Colleen's got a full schedule, even having to turn away a job recently.

    It was interesting to see her talk at her table, giving tips on how she works and how she stays disciplined. Some of the scenes in her books that seem like they should take a lot of time really aren't, such as cityscapes. The example she showed that really was time-consuming was one that had a lot of faces and people's expressions.

    At the one panel of hers that I attended Colleen had the best stories, even though they were unfortunate ones about how women were treated back when she was beginning as an artist.

    Before leaving the con yesterday I broke down and bought another page of her art from BoLS. I *really* need to get some of this coolness framed!!

    If you ever have a chance to meet Colleen at a con, do so. It's bound to be fun and you're likely to learn something.

    Jan

    Leave a comment:


  • Jan
    replied
    Yay! I'll be glad to see it back. I've missed it.

    Don't suppose you'll have any #7 art to peek at with you at SDCC?

    Jan

    Leave a comment:


  • colleen
    replied
    Yep. It is finished.

    As soon as I have a few projects completed (three will be off my plate by the end of this month) I guess it is back to Lost Souls full time.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jan
    replied
    Last we heard you were working on #7, right Colleen?

    Jan

    Leave a comment:


  • colleen
    replied
    Hi Jan,

    Thanks for posting. As soon as a few projects are wrapped up this month (and what a month it will be) it's back to Lost Souls. Couldn't be happier.


    c

    Leave a comment:


  • Jan
    started a topic Colleen Doran at NYCC

    Colleen Doran at NYCC

    For fans of JMS's "Book of Lost Souls" or Colleen Doran in general (she's done *lots* of work!), she's featured as a guest at NYCC now. About BoLS, she writes:

    Also, I spoke with JMS recently, and yes, we will be going back to work on The Book of Lost Souls. I will spend the rest of the month of February wrapping up projects and then I very much look forward time with Jonathan and Mystery and the very creepy/sexy villains in the new storyline.

    JMS will be at the show, so I will have art from Lost Souls, as well as books.
    For the entire nice long post, check out her blog.

    Jan
Working...
X